Dyeing: Avocado pits and peels

150121_3

For a few weeks I have been keeping a glass jar of water, salt and avocado pits and peels on my window sill.

Yesterday I decided that the dye was finished and poured it into a big cooking pot and let it cook for one hour. I later added a piece of white cotton fabric and let it boil for an additional hour. Finally I pour the fabric and remaining liquid back into the glass jar to let it soak up as much dye as possible.

Fermentation is a method for getting stronger and more durable colours when dyeing with plants. I av hoping for a pink hue, but my guess is that it will be a pale beige. Den som lever får se…

The experimentation continues!

Leave a Reply

