Off the needles: Sock Beanie (+pattern?)

Phew! I finally finished knitting this hat from the wonderful Hedgehog Fibres Sock in the shade Concrete this weekend. It is knitted on size 2 mm double pointed needles, all in 2×2 rib. But the yarn made it all worth it, it is super soft and it has just the amount of elasticity I was looking for as I like hats that covers the ears and keep the cold air out.

I made up the pattern as I knitted. The rib took so long that I had a lot of time to think about how to do the decreases. The shape of the crown is inspired from store bought beanies. The decreases are often asymmetrical, more flat or how I should put it, a shape that is quite uncommon in hat knitting patterns that I’ve seen on Ravelry (or maybe it is just me that have missed them).

I think I will write down the pattern for this hat and publish it on Ravelry. Fingering sock yarn is something many people have available and this simple (but refined) model would suit a lot of people, both men and women. It would look amazing in multicolored hand dyed yarn.

I just need to find the time and do it…

150125_1

Leave a Reply

