Progress Report D-SPAKAL: Meter/gram ratio improving?

150130-2

Warning! This post will be a little geeky… Going into stats of grams and meters of my spinning (but who doesn’t like some fiber related stats?).

I joined the D-SPAKAL hosted by the Yarngasm Podcast in order to learn how to spinn properly while having the possibility to ask others for help, get motivated and also to work towards a goal: spinning enough yarn for an aran styled cabled cowl.

I decided to spinn using the Navajo ply-on-the-fly method with untreated Southdown wool from World of Wool. I wanted to be able to track my progress easily during spinning so I started making small labels to put on the finished mini-skeins as they come of my spindle where i record date finished, which skein it is (first, second, third etc), length and weight. At the moment I have spun up about 60 grams of fiber, some where between 100-120 meters of yarn (I have some on my spindle).

Yesterday I was looking at the skeins with the labels to see if there is a difference in thickness and evenness (is that a word?) to see if my spinning has improved. Looking at the numbers I realized that I could calculate the ratio between length and weight and get the amount of meters for every gram of fiber I spun.

150130-3

The result was very interesting as the different skeins have about the same thickness but the ratios where very different. The first skein was spun at 1,5 meters/gram of fiber, the second was 2,5 meters/gram  and the third was to my surprise 1,8 meters/gram, lower than the second.

As I have become better I guess I don’t need to put as much twist in the yarn to prevent it from breaking, making it lighter, more springy and better suited for a cowl or other neck-wear. But I don’t understand what happened on the third skein, going back to 1,8.. I also think that there is a difference in how the different skeins reflect the light; the first one seem a bit darker or yellow than the second and third which are a bit lighter and have more of a halo. If I get more than the required amount (375 yards I believe) the first might become socks instead. The high twist makes it a bit scratchy to have against the neck but also more durable and suitable for socks.

Leave a Reply

